10 Jul 2018

Transatlantic Research Cooperation to Treasure and Protect the Atlantic Ocean

On 6th June 2018, a celebratory event entitled “Transatlantic Research Cooperation to Treasure and Protect the Atlantic Ocean” was held in the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. Celebrating 20 years of the EU-US Science and Technology Agreement and 5 years of EU-US marine research cooperation, the event brought together European and US representatives of industry, science and policy to identify the best ways for science to help us treasure and protect the Atlantic Ocean, to keep it healthy and productive and to understand and tackle the issue of plastics in the ocean.

A full webcast of the event can be viewed here

A newsletter offering an overview of the event can be read here

A new episode of the EU Now Podcast on the topic of Preserving the Atlantic is also available here


Panel sessions include:

The Galway Statement: Vision and Achievements

Panel members:

Judith Garber, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs, Department of State

H.E. David O'Sullivan, Ambassador of European Union to the United States of America

Volker Rieke, Director General for International Affairs, German Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Craig McLean, Assistant Administrator for Oceanic and Atmospheric Research and Acting Chief Scientist, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration


Where should our Atlantic Ocean cooperation go from here?

This session premiers the Atlantic Ocean Research Alliance video – the Last Great Exploration Campaign on Earth

Moderated by Sigi Gruber (European Commission) and Craig McLean (NOAA)

Atlantic Ocean Research Alliance – Short Film Premier

Peter Heffernan, CEO, Marine Institute Ireland

Lisa Levin, Distinguished Professor, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, Co-lead of the Deep Ocean Stewardship Initiative and of the Deep Ocean Observing Strategy

Wojciech Wawrzynski, Head of Science Support Department, International Council for the Exploration of the Sea

Minh-Hà Pham, Science Counsellor, Embassy of France

Vladimir Ryabinin, Executive Secretary, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission

Jon White, President and CEO, Consortium Ocean Leadership